Leadership and Action Committees

In order to effectively accomplish specific public education, advocacy, policy and systems change goals in the IAPO Roadmap (the 8 objectives), IAPO convenes a leadership committee and action committees specific to current IAPO policy and system change initiatives. All committees are made up of staff and volunteers from IAPO member organizations or public agencies with a role or stake in preventing and reducing obesity, and participation is provided as an in-kind contribution to IAPO. 

To learn more about current action committees, contact Janna Simon, Program Director – janna.simon@iphionline.org

Organizations participating in the IAPO Leadership Committee up through 2023 included:

Active Transportation Alliance
Alliance for a Healthier Generation
American Cancer Society – Illinois
American Heart Association
American Medical Association
Chicago Department of Public Health
Chicago Food Policy Action Council
Chicago Hispanic Health Coalition
Consortium to Lower Obesity in Chicago Children
Cook County Department of Public Health
DeKalb County Health Department
DuPage County FORWARD Initiative
EverThrive Illinois
Health Connect One
Healthy Schools Campaign
Illinois Academy of Family Physicians
Illinois Action for Healthy Kids
Illinois Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
Illinois Association of Public Health Administrators
Illinois Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics 
Illinois Department of Public Health
Illinois Network of Child Care Resources and Referral Agencies
Illinois Primary Health Care Association
Illinois Public Health Association 
Illinois Public Health Institute
Illinois State Alliance of YMCAs
Institute for Health Research and Policy, UIC
Jackson County Health Department
Peoria City/County Health Department
Tazewell County Health Department
United States Department of Health and Human Services – Region 5
Woodford County Health Department
YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago